Victory Fund Endorses Nine LGBTQ Candidates for Local Office

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, January 30, 2017

CONTACT: Elliot Imse, Director of Communications, [email protected]

Washington, DC – Today Victory Fund, the nation’s only organization dedicated to electing LGBTQ leaders to public office, endorsed nine LGBTQ candidates for the 2017 election season. Victory Fund aims to increase the number of LGBTQ elected officials at the state and local levels in 2017, to help push forward equality and mitigate the effects of anti-LGBTQ efforts from all levels of government.

“These nine LGBTQ candidates are values-driven leaders who will champion equality and other issues important to their constituents,” said Victory Fund President & CEO Aisha C. Moodie-Mills. “LGBTQ elected officials in local government play a significant role in influencing policy and legislative debates, and help humanize our lives for their communities. We are proud to endorse these leaders and look forward to them winning their races.”

Endorsed Candidates

Rafer Johnson, Mayor of South Fulton (GA)
Margaret Paul, Berwyn City Clerk (IL)
Joseph Johnston, Berwyn Township Trustee (IL)
Jose Ramirez, Berwyn Board of Alderman, Ward 2 (IL)
Jeanine Reardon, Berwyn Board of Alderman, Ward 3 (IL)

Endorsed Incumbents

Nick Kachiroubas, Crystal Lake City Clerk (IL)
Debra Shore, Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (IL)
Ben Allatt, Harrisburg City Council (PA)
Chris Anderson, Chattanooga City Council, District 7 (TN)

Since 1991, Victory Fund has helped thousands of openly LGBTQ candidates win local, state and federal elections.


Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund

The Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund works to change the face and voice of America’s politics and achieve equality for LGBTQ Americans by increasing the number of openly LGBTQ elected officials at all levels of government.