The Agenda

Historic Primary Wins in Florida

Above: Victory-endorsed candidate Beth Tuura, who won her primary this evening. 
Tonight, Victory Fund President & CEO Aisha C. Moodie-Mills released the following statement in response to the historic victories of LGBTQ candidates in the Florida primary:
“Just a few months after a mass shooting targeted our community in Florida, LGBTQ leaders achieved a string of historic primary victories offering hope that meaningful change is on its way,” said Victory Fund President & CEO Aisha C. Moodie-Mills. “At least five openly LGBTQ candidates won their primaries for state representative, a promising and concrete step toward equality. Electing all five would quintuple the number of openly LGBTQ representatives in the Florida state legislature, putting Florida on par with just six other states who have five or more openly LGBTQ representatives.
“Florida’s LGBTQ candidates represent an exciting and historic opportunity to advance LGBTQ representation in one of the most populous and electorally consequential states in the nation. Victory is directing considerable attention and support to our Florida candidates in the coming months, so we can build long-term LGBTQ political power and a deep bench of political talent that can win not only this election or these offices, but the next election for the next statehouse, Congressional or Senate race.”
The following Victory-endorsed candidates won their primaries in Florida, according to media reports:
Carlos Guillermo Smith (Florida House of Representatives, District 49)
Ken Keechl (Florida House of Representatives, District 93)
David Richardson (Florida House of Representatives, District 113)
Beth Tuura (Florida House of Representatives, District 47)
Jennifer Webb (Florida House of Representatives, District 69)
Lea Krauss (Broward County Circuit Court)
Steve Smith (Florida Keys Mosquito Control Commission, District 3)

Spotlight Candidates, State Legislature