The Agenda

Michaud wins key endorsements in governor’s race

The Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund today announced it has so far endorsed 25 openly LGBT candidates for 2014 political races, including its first-ever candidate for governor. Congressman Mike Michaud (D-Maine) won the group’s backing in his groundbreaking gubernatorial campaign, which could make him the first openly gay candidate elected to lead a U.S. state.

“Mike Michaud is uniquely qualified to serve as governor of Maine. As a U.S. representative, he’s been a strong supporter of LGBT issues and an advocate for Maine’s working families. As the nation’s first openly gay candidate to win a gubernatorial election, he’d also be a strong voice for fairness, freedom and equality for all Americans coast-to-coast,” said Chuck Wolfe, president and CEO of the Victory Fund. “We’re proud to join EqualityMaine in endorsing Congressman Michaud.”

“I’m extremely proud to have the support of the Victory Fund, and I’m excited about what we can accomplish together,” said Congressman Mike Michaud. “By shining a spotlight on the men and women the Victory Fund has helped elect to every level of government, they’ve changed the face of politics in America and laid the groundwork for many of the recent gains in the fight for equality across the country.”

Victory has endorsed two other candidates for statewide office so far in 2014, as well as six candidates for Congress, 10 state legislative candidates and six candidates running at the local level. The group expects to endorse some 200 openly LGBT candidates this year.

2014 Endorsements To Date


Maura Healey – Attorney General, Massachusetts
Steve Kerrigan – Lt. Governor, Massachusetts
Mike Michaud – Governor, Maine

U.S. House of Representatives

Marcus Brandon (NC-12)
David Cicilline (RI-1)
Sean Eldridge (NY-19)
Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)
Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-9)
Mark Takano (CA-41)

State Legislature

Bonnie Cullison – Maryland House of Delegates, District 19 (Silver Spring)
Mary Gonzalez – Texas House of Representatives, District 75 (Clint)
Jon Hoadley – Michigan House of Representatives, District 60 (Kalamazoo)
Garnet Lewis – Michigan State Senate, District 32 (Freeland)
Evan Low – California State Assembly, District 28 (Campbell)
Jeremy Moss – Michigan House of Representatives, District 35 (Southfield)
David Richardson – Florida House of Representatives, District 113 (Miami Beach)
Brian Sims – Pennsylvania State House of Representatives, District 182 (Philadelphia)
Kevin Walling – Maryland House of Delegates, District 16 (Bethesda)
Mary Washington – Maryland House of Delegates, District 43 (Baltimore)


Bonnie Dumanis – District Attorney, San Diego, California
Evan Glass – Montgomery County Council, Maryland
Scott Hines – City Council, Rancho Mirage, California
Byron Macfarlane – Register of Wills, Howard County, Maryland
Jeffrey Prang – Assessor, Los Angeles County, California
Brett Smiley – Mayor, Providence, Rhode Island