Victory Fund Endorses 19 More LGBTQ Candidates for 2019; Upgrades Satya Rhodes-Conway to Spotlight Endorsement

Rhodes-Conway’s primary victory puts her on-track to become  first openly LGBTQ mayor of Madison, Wisconsin

Washington, DC – Today LGBTQ Victory Fund, the only national organization dedicated to electing LGBTQ leaders to public office, endorsed 19 new openly LGBTQ candidates for the 2019 election cycle and upgraded Satya Rhodes-Conway to a Spotlight endorsement after her primary victory in the Madison, Wisconsin mayoral race. Rhodes-Conway finished a close second to incumbent mayor Paul Soglin, who she will face in the general election. Rhodes-Conway will become the first openly LGBTQ mayor of Madison and just the second woman mayor if elected.

Fourteen of the newly endorsed candidates are running for city councils, three for judicial positions and two for Virginia state legislative seats. More than half are running in states considered low or negative-equality by the Movement Advancement Project.

“While many in the political world are preparing for 2020, including the team here at LGBTQ Victory Fund, we will not overlook this year’s elections and the state and local LGBTQ candidates who can make an enormous impact on equality in their communities,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “These LGBTQ leaders become role models for our youth, are our biggest advocates and defenders, and move-up the political ladder to even more influential positions. This election cycle matters – and we are thrilled to support these new endorsees.”

A complete list of candidate endorsements announced today is below:


Upgraded to Spotlight Endorsement:

Satya Rhodes-Conway, Mayor of Madison (WI)


General Candidates:

Wade Albert, Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas, At-Large

Jake Banton, St. Louis City Board of Aldermen, 26th Ward

James Michael Bowers, Lincoln (NE) City Council, District 1

Alison Brown, Indianapolis City Council, District 5

Antonio Brown, Atlanta City Council, District 3

Alan Clendenin, Tampa City Council, District 1

Brendan Csaposs, East Baton Rouge (LA) Metro Council

Erin Edwards, Riverside (CA) City Council, Ward 1

Tiffany Palmer, Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas, At-Large

Jessica Rothchild, Scranton (PA) City Council, At-Large

Henry Sias, Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas, At-Large

Tony Smith, Denver City Council, District 10

Chad West, Dallas City Council, District 1


Incumbent Candidates:

Zach Adamson, Indianapolis City Council, District 17

Adam Ebbin, Virginia State Senate, District 30

Geoffrey Kors, Palm Springs (CA) City Council, District 3

Mark Levine, Virginia House of Delegates, District 45

Ty Stober, Vancouver (WA) City Council, District 5

Beverly Uhlenhake, Brewer (ME) City Council, At-Large

More information about the candidates is available at

Since 1991, Victory Fund has helped thousands of openly LGBTQ candidates win local, state and federal elections.


LGBTQ Victory Fund

LGBTQ Victory Fund works to change the face and voice of America’s politics and achieve equality for LGBTQ Americans by increasing the number of openly LGBTQ elected officials at all levels of government.