Trans State Legislators Triple on Election Night; Race for Trans State Candidate in CO Remains Close

Washington, DC – Just one year after America elected its first out trans state legislator Danica Roem in Virginia, voters elected two more trans state legislative candidates in New Hampshire to triple trans representation in state legislatures come January. In a Colorado House of Representatives race with out trans candidate Brianna Titone, it remains extremely tight – Titone is up by just 12 votes out of more than 47,000 as of 1pm ET on November 8. If Titone wins, America will have quadrupled the number of out trans state legislations.

A total of six trans candidates won nationwide at every level of government this election cycle. Currently just 15 openly trans elected officials are serving in the United States.

“When we dubbed 2017 the Year of the Trans Candidate we committed ourselves to ensuring it was not an outlier – and this election cycle proves trans candidates are going to continue to step-up and win,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “The 2017 victories for trans candidates inspired many of this year’s successful trans candidates to run for office and ensure trans voices are included in the halls of power. Significantly, they are not only winning in the most liberal enclaves, but also in red states and parts of the nation where trans equality remains elusive. While trans people are still severely underrepresented in government, the revolution that began last year is now becoming a regular political storyline, and in time will lead to full equality for trans Americans.”

Below are the trans candidates who won on Election Day as well as two candidates who won in October*:

  • Lisa Bunker, New Hampshire House of Representatives
  • Gerri Cannon, New Hampshire House of Representatives
  • Liz Lyke*, North Star Borough Assemblywoman (AK)
  • Monika Nemeth, DC Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner
  • Kathy Ottersten*, Fairbanks City Council (AK)
  • Adam Spickler, Cabrillo College Trustee (CA)

*Liz Lyke and Kathy Ottersten were elected in municipal elections held in October 2018 and are currently serving in their positions. They are included among the 15 openly trans elected officials currently serving nationwide.

Of the 225 Victory Fund endorsed LGBTQ candidates on the ballot on Election Day, 154 won their races, with 16 races still too close to call. For the latest results, visit


LGBTQ Victory Fund

LGBTQ Victory Fund works to change the face and voice of America’s politics and achieve equality for LGBTQ Americans by increasing the number of openly LGBTQ elected officials at all levels of government.