Victory Fund Endorses 18 More LGBTQ Candidates for 2019; Philadelphia City Council Candidates Can Make History

No LGBTQ person has ever been elected to the Philadelphia City Council

Washington, DC – Today LGBTQ Victory Fund, the only national organization dedicated to electing LGBTQ leaders to public office, endorsed 18 new openly LGBTQ candidates for the 2019 election cycle. Three of the new endorsees are candidates for the Philadelphia City Council – which has never had an openly LGBTQ member. Adrian Rivera-Reyes and Deja Lynn Alvarez, both running for at-large seats, secured the first and second spots on the primary ballot, respectively. Those ballot positions and their robust campaigns make them strong contenders for the May primary election. Lauren Vidas, running for District 2 of the Philadelphia City Council, is also a strong contender. All three would be historic firsts if they win on Election Day.

“While Philadelphia has a vibrant LGBTQ community, they have never had representation on the city council whose legislation and policies deeply affect their lives,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “Now we have three opportunities to change that, with extraordinary and diverse LGBTQ candidates who will each bring unique and important perspectives to the council when elected. Philadelphians have an opportunity to make history come November – and Victory Fund is all in to help make it happen.”

Among the other endorsees announced today is Alex Giorgio-Rubin, running for an at-large seat on the South Bend, Indiana Common Council. A victory for Giorgio-Rubin is critical to maintaining LGBTQ representation in South Bend’s city government after Mayor Pete Buttigieg announced he would not seek a third term.

A complete list of candidate endorsements announced today is below:

General Candidates:

Candi CdeBaca, Denver City Council, District 9

LaWana Mayfield, Charlotte City Council, At-Large

Stephen Napier, Mayor of Cohoes (NY)

Adrian Rivera-Reyes, Philadelphia City Council, At-Large

Deja Lynn Alvarez, Philadelphia City Council, At-Large

Lauren Vidas, Philadelphia City Council, District 2

Xavier Garcia-Molina, Lancaster (PA) City Council, At-Large

Lori Schreiber, Montgomery County (PA) Clerk of Courts

Zach Young, Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County

Erin Moore, Dallas City Council, District 9

Joshua Carter Guerra, Socorro (TX) ISD Board of Trustees, District 1

Alex Giorgio-Rubin, South Bend (IN) Common Council, At-Large


Incumbent Candidates:

Denise Simmons, Cambridge (MA) City Council, At-Large

Lizbeth DeSelm, Melrose (MA) School Committee, At-Large

Michael DeFusco, Hoboken (NJ) City Council, Ward 1

Matt Hughes, Hillsborough (NC) Board of Commissioners, At-Large

Brett Withers, Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County

Adam Medrano, Dallas City Council, District 2


This is Victory Fund’s fourth round of endorsements for the 2019 election cycle. The organization has now endorsed 64 openly LGBTQ candidates across the country.

More information about the candidates is available at

Since 1991, Victory Fund has helped thousands of openly LGBTQ candidates win local, state and federal elections.


LGBTQ Victory Fund

LGBTQ Victory Fund works to change the face and voice of America’s politics and achieve equality for LGBTQ Americans by increasing the number of openly LGBTQ elected officials at all levels of government.